About Us


NWRL History

The Northwest Regional Library is one of twelve regional library systems in Minnesota. NWRL serves the counties of Kittson, Marshall, Pennington, Red Lake and Roseau counties, with a combined population of 47,855 residents.

There are seven libraries and two LINK sites in the NWRL system. Libraries are located in Warroad, Roseau, Greenbush, Hallock, Warren, Thief River Falls, and Red Lake Falls. LINK sites (libraries which are open less than 20 hours per week) are located in Karlstad and Grygla.

The headquarters office for the NWRL system is located in Thief River Falls, at 210 LaBree Avenue N. The headquarters office serves as the business office for the region. Technical processing, IT, and delivery services are also located here.

The NWRL has a delivery service that transports materials between the nine locations twice per week. Every Tuesday and Friday, the delivery van picks up and drops off books and materials to the NWRL locations, a 300-mile round-trip journey, in every kind of weather.

The NWRL is primarily funded through property tax distributions from the five counties and nine cities, and a Regional Library Basic System Support grant from the State of Minnesota.